News & Events

MRI Linac Lecture

(2018-02-23) Jan Lagendijk, PhD, Professor and Head of Radiation Oncology, Radiology, and Nuclear Medicine Physics at the Universitair Medisch Centrum (UMC) Utrecht visited the Duke University Medical Physics Graduate Program to deliver this month’s distinguished lecture. The talk commenced with Dr. Lagendijk discussing the limitations on present day’s radiation therapy work flow, which includes uncertainty in day-to-day positioning. He further discussed on how the MRI Linac (MRL) technology can potentially address some of these challenges and bring improvements to better tailor dose distribution in radiation therapy, such as with better tumor characterization, real-time response assessment, and continuous treatment plan adaptation. Dr. Lagendijk ended his lecture by emphasizing the importance of having radiation therapy treatment as a real time process. Immediately after the talk, he answered questions from students and faculty members during the townhall.

Martin Pomper, MD, PhD, Professor of Radiology and Director of Division of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging at the Johns Hopkins Medical School will deliver the last distinguished lecture for the academic year on March 22, 2018.


IAEA Internship Acceptance

(2018-02-23) Congratulations to Steve Hyatt (MS 2018) on being awarded a yearlong IAEA Dosimetry and Medical Radiation Physics Section internship. During this time period, Steven will be living in Vienna, Austria. The internship is fully funded by the International Programs at Argonne National Laboratory, who administers an Internship Placement Program with the IAEA.

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is an international organization, committed to promoting safe, secure, and peaceful uses of nuclear technology that contribute to international peace and promote sustainable development.


The Optical Society Awardee 2018

(2018-02-23) Congratulations to Dr. Warren S. Warren, PhD (Physics), for being awarded William F. Meggers Award from the Optical Society. The award honors researchers for outstanding work in the field of spectroscopy, and Dr. Warren's was recognized for pioneering development of “coherent” spectroscopic methods -- approaches which use highly controlled light, such as tailored laser pulses less than a trillionth of a second long, or complex pulse sequences.  His work bridges two quite different domains, magnetic resonance (where he works to improve the sensitivity of MRI machines) and coherent optics (where his lab develops methods to extract new molecular information about cancerous tissue such as melanoma).


Announcing Distinguished Lecture

Jan Lagendijk, PhD, UMC Utrecht

Professor of Radiation Oncology Physics

“The MRI Linac: Towards Robotic Real-Time MRI Guided Radiotherapy”

Feb 15, 2018; 2:30 PM; Bryan Research Bld. Auditorium

Reception and townhall discussion will follow



2017 SEAAPM Best Paper Award

(2018-02-09) Congratulations for Dr. Winslow (Radiology), Yakun Zhang (MS’2012), and Dr. Samei (Radiology) for having their paper selected as the SEAAPM Best Publication for diagnostic imaging physics! In this article titled “A method for characterizing and matching CT image quality across CT scanners from different manufacturers”, researchers quantitatively characterize the fundamental aspects of image quality (IQ) associated with different computed tomography (CT) reconstruction algorithms, the resolution, noise texture, noise magnitude per dose, and use those data to devise a methodology to match IQ between different CT systems. (Read the article here)