News & Events

Welcoming Picnic 2017

(2017-09-01) Kicking off the new 2017-2018 academic year, the Duke Medical Physics Graduate Program organized an outdoor picnic on Thursday, August 24, 2017. Authentic North Carolina Barbecue complete with all the fixings as well as cobbler dessert and Southern-style sweet tea were deliciously served to our new and returning students, staff, friends, and family members at the Duke Faculty Club in Durham. The picnic was a great opportunity, especially for our new students, to experience North Carolina’s lovely summer weather and make acquaintances with other students, staff, and faculty members in a casual setting before the semester begins.


MEDPHYS Orientation Week

(2017-08-18) On August 14, 2017, the new coming MedPhys class was welcomed by the sound of Dr. Reiman's family historical school bell dated back to 1870's. The Orientation Week was started with informative presentations orchestrated by Dr. Samei, the Program Director, and Dr. Kapadia, DGS. Therefore, three important workshop topics are covered during the orientation: a medical physics math workshop by Dr. Dean Darnell (Class 2015/Radiology), which covers mathematics and statistics concepts that will be utilized in classes during the semester; a computational imaging workshop by Kyle Lafata (PhD student), that reinforces the math concepts in a computing environment; and Latin Terminology workshop by Dr. Reiman (Radiology), which covers the fundamentals of Latin terminology used in medical professions.


Radiation Dosimetry Lab News

(2017-08-18) U.S. Patent entitled, “linear-response nanocrystal scintillators and methods of using the same,” was issued to Dr. Terry Yoshizumi (Radiology), Ian Stanton, and Dr. Mike Therien (Chemistry). This new technology has created opportunities to monitor radiation dose in real-time in brachytherapy, external beam therapy, and small animals due to its small size. By using nano-scintillators, it is possible to create calibration data to correlate radiation dose and measured light, which may be used to directly determine a corresponding dose for a measured light signal or to create a linear model from which the corresponding dose to a measured light value can be calculated. Currently Drs. Yoshizumi and Therien are exploring new applications in neutron detection and 2-D neutron and photon imaging plate.

From left to right: Dr. Junzo Chino (Rad Onc collaborator), Dr. Therien (Co-Inventor), and Dr. Yoshizumi (Co-inventor)


New Mercury Phantom in Production

(2017-08-04) Gammex, Sun Nuclear Corporation has licensed the latest Mercury 4.0 Phantom that has been designed by Dr. Ehsan Samei (Radiology).  The new phantom concept for automatic exposure control was created to meet next generation computed tomography (CT) quality control (QA) needs, such as advanced image quality assessment techniques, including task-based metrology; performance evaluation of iterative reconstruction techniques; performance and effectiveness of automatic tube current modulation techniques.


Best in Physics Award Winners

(2017-08-04) Congratulations to Leith Rankine (PhD student) and James Spencer (MS 2017) for being awarded BEST IN PHYSICS at the AAPM 2017 Annual Meeting, scoring highest in the abstract review process and judged by the Scientific Program Directors to reflect the highest level of scientific quality and innovation.

Leith Rankine and his colleagues used a novel Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) technique to measure and compare spatial distributions of lung ventilation and gas exchange in humans. Read abstract here.

James Spencer and his colleagues show the first comparisons of fresh and formalin-fixed specimens to pathologist-assessed H&E histology to detect breast cancer through diffraction imaging. The results exhibit the coherent-scatter diffraction imaging system’s ability to distinguish and identify cancerous tissue using principles of x-ray diffraction. Read abstract here.