News & Events

Bringing new value to patient care

(2017-10-27) Responding to the ever-changing healthcare field, medical physicists are obligated to utilize their expertise to provide precise, consistent, and optimal patient-centered care. Medical Physics Program Director Dr. Samei, current chair of AAPM Medical Physics 3.0 initiative, recently published an article titled, “Medical Physicists Bring New Value to Patient-Centered Care” for PSQH (Patient Safety and Quality Healthcare). In this article, Dr. Samei discusses aspects medical physicists can address to have a more direct role in patient care, such as optimizing imaging dose and quality through better monitoring, developing a universal metric of radiation objective, and making imaging modalities, with an emphasis on making MRI safer for patients with stimulators. He concludes by highlighting that medical physicists bring unique value to healthcare by enabling innovative, personalized precise care through clinical application of physical sciences. (Read the full article here)


System of Radiological Protection

(2017-10-27) Dr. Donald Cool, current Technical Executive for Radiation Safety with the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), and Chairman of International Commission on Radiation Protection (ICRP) Committee 4 on Application of the Commission’s Recommendations for the 2017 – 2021 term, delivered the second distinguished lecture, titled “The System of Radiological Protection: What is it, and how is it developed,” on October 26 at the Duke North Hospital. During the talk, Dr. Cool discusses the evolution of protection from earlier attempts to manage harm associated with radiation exposure to the current attempt to manage the probability of harm. In addition, he highlighted the importance of building the “bridge” linking radiation biology and epidemiology through experience, science, and social/ethical principles. He concluded his talk by describing ICRP’s Committee 4 current program of work related to different exposure situations and emergencies, as well as many ethical issues surrounding the radiation protection field.Immediately following the lecture, the program held a townhall forum at Hock Plaza where students were able to ask follow-up questions and discusses the current state of national and international radiation protection system with Dr. Cool.

Dr. Zeljko Vujaskovic from the University of Maryland School of Medicine will deliver the next distinguished lecture regarding pencil beam scanning proton therapy and hyperthermia on November 16, 2017.

ASTRO Award Winner

(2017-10-13) Congratulations to Leith Rankine (PhD student) for being awarded TRAVEL AWARD (Radiation Physics Category) at the ASTRO 2017 Annual Meeting, scoring highest in the abstract review process and judged by the Scientific Program Directors to reflect the highest level of scientific quality and innovation. In his work tiled “Is Lung Ventilation Imaging a Reasonable Surrogate for Gas Exchange? Implications for Functionally Guided Radiation Therapy Planning”, Leith and his colleagues used a novel Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) technique to measure and compare spatial distributions of lung ventilation and gas exchange in humans. The Annual Meeting Travel Award recognizes outstanding research by early-career scientists, biologists and physicists. Lead authors of 15 high-scoring abstracts selected for the meeting will receive awards of $1,000 to support travel to the meeting. Read abstract here.


Fall 2017 Open House

(2017-10-13) The Duke Medical Physics Program welcomed prospective students during the annual Fall Open House on October 6, 2017. The Open House began with informative introductions by the Program Director Dr. Samei and DGS Dr. Kapadia. Leith Rankine (PhD student) also shared some of his experience in the program through a “Why Duke” presentation. This year, a student showcase session was added to the agenda to allow more interactions between current students and prospective applicants. In addition, guests were able to enjoy Duke’s historic West Campus and sightsee popular places around Durham (Ninth Street, Brightleaf, and Downtown to name a few) during our student-led city-campus tour. The Open House concluded with imaging and radiation oncology facility tours at the state-of-the-art Duke University Hospital Cancer Center, hosted by faculty members of the program.


Announcing Distinguished Lecture

Donald Cool, PhD, Electric Power Research Institute
Technical Executive - Radiation Safety
"The System of Radiological Protection: What is it"
Oct 26, 2017; 2:30 PM; Duke North 2002 (New Location)
Reception and townhall discussion will follow