News & Events

Holiday Party!

Faculty, staff, residents, and students congregated for our 2012 holiday party at the home of Associate Director Dr. Yin. Happy holidays to all! (photo by Taoran Li)

Short Film "Like a Family" released

We are pleased to present our short film "Like A Family" [ext. link on Vimeo], in which program director Jim Dobbins shares his personal insights on our Medical Physics program. Come learn about what is medical physics and what makes our program unique.


This film is the first in a series of short movies presenting a glimpse into life at Duke Medical Physics. The films are being produced entirely by students and staff of Duke Medical Physics with no outside professional help. Congratulations to Taoran Li and his team on launching the first video.

Welcoming Picnic for Medical Physics!

(2012-09-08) In what has become a program tradition, we welcome our new 18 MS and 6 PhD students with a picnic at the Duke Faculty Club. Students and faculty get an opportunity to mingle informally. Students are treated to what is often their first taste of NC BBQ. Photos below are courtesy of staff assistant Katherine Hand, more are available at our program page on Facebook [ext. link].

Passing of Ed Coleman

(2012-06-25) We mourn the passing of R. Edward Coleman MD, professor of radiology, Chief of the Division of Nuclear Medicine, and Vice Chair for Academic Affairs. Dr. Geoff Rubin, chair of radiology, wrote in an email, "For anyone of us arriving at Duke Radiology over the past 33 years, Ed was a welcoming presence. His compassion, knowledge, and integrity blended seamlessly with his affable nature. His door was always open, and his smile was ever present... During my time at Duke, Ed had been a great source of ideas and support. I sought his wise counsel frequently and was rewarded as I know many of you have been with deep insights and sage advice." Program director Dr. Jim Dobbins wrote, "Ed was a key leader in the science and clinical practice of nuclear medicine for many decades.  His scientific and clinical work with be missed, but more importantly, we will miss Ed as a friend, colleague, and mentor.  Ed was a true gentleman scholar, and I will miss his warmth, wisdom, and leadership.  He was a faculty member at Duke for 33 years, and also a member of our medical physics graduate program faculty for five years." Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Coleman participated in the first ever PET imaging of humans. Later, he was instrumental in getting reimbursement for PET imaging, thus transforming it from an esoteric research technique into one of the most important cancer imaging tools of the last decade. He also worked closely with GE to develop the first combination PET-CT systems, and in just a few years, those became the new standard of care. You can learn more about him in this full obituary [ext. link]. Dr. Coleman was active in his work until the end. In fact just a few weeks after he passed, one of his research studies was published that showed PET brain scans can detect early signs of Alzheimer's disease. More details about this study can be seen in this press release [ext. link].

Angels Among Us

(2012-04-28) Kate Turner reports, "Students of the medical physics program participated in the Angels Among Us 5K Walk/Run to benefit the Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center. Our team, "T2 Stars," raised $1,760 for the cause. This was the first year the program participated, but we look forward to participating again next year and raising even more money. For more information on the event, visit [ext. link]." Photos below are courtesy of program student Taoran Li.