News & Events

Lei Ren becomes 1st Duke med phys PhD

(2009-04-28) Congratulations to Lei Ren, who successfully defended his PhD dissertation today to become our first ever PhD graduate. He was advised by Fang-Fang Yin who is also our program's associate director. Lei's dissertation was titled "Optimization Of Image Guided Radiation Therapy Using Limited Angle Projections." This picture was taken at his defense.


Sangroh Kim and Maryann Abogunde Receive Awards at NC Health Physics Society

(2009-03-13) Congratulations to program students Sangroh Kim and Maryann Abogunde, who received best student paper awards at the North Carolina Chapter of the Health Physics Society (NCHPS) meeting held in New Bern, NC. Their paper titles were:
A Monte Carlo dose estimation method using a voxelized phantom for pediatric CBCT (best student paper) Sangroh Kim, Greta Toncheva, Donald Frush, Fang-Fang Yin, and Terry Yoshizumi, NC Chapter HPS meeting, 3/12-13/2009
Dose Comparison between AAPM TG-61 protocol and MOSFET-based Phantom Dosimetry(best student paper) Maryann O. Abogunde. Greta Toncheva, Colin Anderson-Evans, Sua Yoo, Oana Cracuinescu, Bevery Steffy, Mark Dewhirst, Terry T. Yoshizumi , NC Chapter HPS meeting, 3/12-13/2009

CAMPEP accreditation for Radiation Oncology Residency Program

(2009-03-09) The Duke University residency program in Radiation Oncology Physics has been granted accreditation from CAMPEP through December 31, 2013.  The objective of the Residency Program is to train individuals with medical physics and related education to practice professional radiation oncology physics. The program will provide comprehensive structured education and training in a clinical environment.  Residents, under the supervision of board-certified medical physicists, participate in the clinical duties of a radiation oncology physicist.  The resident will be, upon completion of the program, competent in radiation oncology physics practice and implementation of new technology, and prepared to sit for the certification examination of the American Board of Radiology in Therapeutic Radiological Physics.

The Program is supervised by the Director of Radiation Physics, Fang- Fang Yin, Ph.D, and with the oversight of the chair of Radiation Oncology, Christopher Willett, M.D. Two associate directors oversee the daily operations: Shiva Das, Ph.D. for academic affairs and Haijun Song, Ph.D. for clinical training.

The department of radiation oncology is one of the five sponsoring departments to the Medical Physics Graduate Program at Duke. Through this affiliation, the resident is arranged to take didactic courses in radiation therapy and imaging. For more information about the residency program, please contact Carolyn Crank, Research Secretary, at

Neil A. Petry Receives 2009 APhA-APPM William H.Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice

(2009-03-03) Congratulations to Neil Petry, who received the 2009 American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice. Petry is Clinical Assistant Professor in Radiology, Faculty of Medical Physics Graduate Program, and Director of Radiopharmacy and Nuclear Medicine Laboratory in Duke Radiology. He will be recognized at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition April  3-6, 2009 in San Antonio, Texas. The award was established to recognize the achievements of an individual who has made a significant contribution or sustained contributions to the provision of pharmaceutical care within nuclear pharmacy practice.
Petry was selected in recognition of his work to promote research using radiopharmaceuticals in both the diagnosis and treatment of disease. His efforts to foster new drug development include the coordination and submission of nine Investigational New Drug Applications, two Drug Master Files and two Orphan Drug Applications to the FDA.
Petry’s nominator stated, "Neil Petry is a definite leader in his specialty and in pharmacy. He is a man of integrity and vision; a gentleman and a good citizen. He is held in high regard by his fellow practitioners. I am fortunate to have worked with him over the years, and am proud to have him as a colleague and friend."

Two Faculty Pagers Chosen for PMB Highlights

(2009-03-02) Two program faculty, Georgia Tourassi Ph.D. (associate professor of radiology) and Mark Oldham Ph.D. (associate professor of radiation  oncology) are responsible for 2 of the 20 papers selected for the Physics in Medicine & Biology (PMB) "Highlights of 2008" collection.  Publisher of the journal Simon Harris noted, "This collection represents the very best work published in the journal during 2008 based on high praise from our referees, the greatest number of online downloads and the outstanding nature of the research presented."
The papers are listed below, and may be accessed directly from the PMB website which showcases all 20 papers:


"Decision optimization of case-based computer-aided decision systems using genetic algorithms with application to mammography" Maciej A Mazurowski, Piotr A Habas, Jacek M Zurada and Georgia D Tourassi Phys. Med. Biol. 53 No 4 (21 February 2008) 895-908"Improving the quantitative accuracy of optical-emission computed tomography by incorporating an attenuation correction: application to  HIF1 imaging"E Kim, J Bowsher, A S Thomas, H Sakhalkar, M Dewhirst and M Oldham Phys. Med. Biol. 53 No 19 (7 October 2008) 5371-5383