News & Events

Welcome Picnic at Duke Faculty Club

(2006-09-09) We officially welcomed our second class matriculating in 2006 with a picnic for students, faculty, staff and families. The event at the Duke Faculty Club featured authentic North Carolina barbecue, basketball, and other outdoor activities.

In Memoriam: Raidy and Floyd

(photo credit: unknown/Ehsan Samei)

(2006-09-01) Program faculty Dr. Tom Raidy (left) and Dr. Carey Floyd (right) passed away in June and August respectively. Dr. Raidy was Clinical Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology. His research interests focused on the clinical use of Magnetic Resonance Imaging and Spectroscopy in radiation treatment planning and in measuring treatment response. Prior to joining Duke, he was active in industry research including GE. Dr. Carey Floyd was Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Engineering, and director of our program's Diagnostic Imaging track. His many research interests included nuclear medicine reconstruction algorithms, scatter measurements in chest radiography, computer-aided diagnosis of breast and lung cancer , and neutron stimulated emission computed tomography. He was awarded a lifetime career achievement award from Duke's Department of Radiology on July 14, 2006 at a party in Duke's Nasher Art Museum [ext. link]. In recognition of Carey's superb mentorship of 20+ students (including current program faculty Drs. Lo and Tourassi), a graduate fellowship was established in his name and will be administered by the Medical Physics Graduate Program. The above website contains pictures from the party as well as a full-length obituary. We will miss these colleagues.

Fall 2006 course schedule

(2006-09-01) This fall we have our largest selection of courses to date. We introduced 5 new classes: MEDPHY 322 Advanced Radiation Therapy Physics, MEDPHY 331 Advanced Medical Imaging Physics, MEDPHY 360 Public Speaking for Medical Physicists, MEDPHY 228 Clinical Practicum and Shadowing (Radiation Therapy), and MEDPHY 248 Clinical Practicum and Shadowing (Nuclear Medicine). In addition we continue to offer courses from last fall: MEDPHY 205 Anatomy/Physiology for Medical Physics, MEDPHY 200 Radiation Physics, MEDPHY 230/BME 233 Modern Diagnostic Imaging Systems.

We also continue our recurring MEDPHY 251 Seminar in Medical Physics. The seminar schedule this semester includes introductions to the 4 major study tracks that comprise our program, lectures from program faculty: Dr. Mukunduan on nanoparticle contrast agents, Dr. Badea on x-ray imaging of small animals, and Dr. Dobbins on image quality. We are also very pleased to host 3 distinguished outside speakers: Dr. Guy Besson of Forevision Technologies, Dr. Roderic Pettigrew who is director of NIH/NIBIB, and Dr. Geoffrey Ibbott of MD Anderson. Finally there will be a recap of ASTRO conference talks and a round table discussion on professionalism.

Admissions update

(2006-04-16) After an extremely competitive selection process involving over 140 applicants, we eventually admitted 4 students for the Ph.D. and 14 for the M.S. program. Congratulations to those students, and we look forward to welcoming you to Duke this fall!

William Hendee visit

 (photo credit: Xiang Li) 
On Mar 9-10 we held our annual graduate student visitation and interview event to provide information about the Medical Physics Graduate Program to prospective and admitted students. As part of this event, we were honored to welcome Dr. William Hendee as a special visitor. At the weekly Seminars in Medical Physics, he spoke on "Creativity and Innovation in Action: Migration of the Products of Biomedical Research into the Marketplace." He also spent several hours talking to faculty and students, including the break out session pictured here (left to right: Dr. Hendee, Director of Graduate Studies Dr. Samei, and medical physics Ph.D. student Josh Wilson).
In addition to being the current editor of Medical Physics, the premiere journal in our field, Dr. Hendee also holds the following positions at the Medical College of Wisconsin: Senior Associate Dean and Vice President, Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Professor and Vice-Chair of Radiology, and Professor of Radiation Oncology, Biophysics, Bioethics.