News & Events

Samei Meets with Congressional Staff in DC to Advocate Medical Research

(From Left to Right: Senior Advisor to Senator Thom Tillis, Dr. Joel Collier, Duke BME Faculty, and Dr. Ehsan Samei, Duke Radiology Faculty)

(2017-04-07) In late March, Dr. Ehsan Samei met with the senior advisor to Senator Thom Tillis in Washington DC to advocate and emphasize the importance of basic medical research, to discuss science policy, NIH funding, and the importance of enabling the US to maintain its leadership in science. He was joined by Joel Collier, a fellow Duke BME faculty. 

Kibbe from NCI Visits Duke

(2017-04-07) Dr. Warren A. Kibbe is Acting Deputy Director of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the director of the Center for Biomedical Informatics and Information Technology (CBIIT) at the NCI, visited Duke University Medical Physics Graduate Program on April 07, 2017. In his lecture, he discussed cancer moonshot, data sharing, and the genomic data commons. After the seminar, Medical Physics Graduate Program students meet with Dr. Kibbe for Q&A session, where students had an opportunity to discuss the ability to manage and analyze diverse, and often extremely large, collections of data — whether high-throughput genomics data, clinical data, or annotated medical images, asked career advice, gain information about his background. NCI created CBIIT to lead the coordination, development, and deployment of enterprise-wide digital capabilities (including biomedical informatics, scientific-management information systems, and computing resources) in support of the Institute's initiatives. Through CBIIT, NCI is helping to speed scientific discovery and facilitate translational research by using IT, informatics and Data Science to address complex research challenges. InformationWeek named Dr. Kibbe a Top 25 Innovative Healthcare CIO for 2012.



New Residency Positions for Duke Graduates

The Duke Medical Physics Graduate Program is delighted to announce the establishment of a Diagnostic Imaging Residency position exclusively for our graduates. This imaging residency will be part of the CAMPEP-accredited Duke Imaging Physics Residency Program. The position is open to all MS students graduating from our program and is administered through the MedPhys Match. Plans for additional residency slots in the future are underway.



Mehani Receives Naidu Memorial Award

(2017-03-24)  Madan Rehani, PhD, program faculty and Director of Global Outreach for Radiation Protection and Chair-Designate of the Radiation Safety Committee, has received the Dr. Ramaiah Naidu Memorial Oration Award, based on his valuable contributions to the field of medical physics. The award was presented at the 37th annual conference of the Association of Medical Physicists of India in November.



GE Healthcare Leader Visits Duke

(2017-03-24) Dr. Fraser Robb, a technology leader at GE working on MR coils, visited Duke on Friday March 17 and spoke with the Medical Physics Graduate Program students about his perspectives on industry and academia. He received his PhD in Medical Physics from the University of Aberdeen in 1998 and has since served as professor of radiology at Dartmouth College. He is also currently an honorary professor at the University of Sheffield in the Department of Cardiovascular Science. He was named as one of GE Healthcare’s most prolific inventors with more than 25 patents and as ISMRM Engineering Chair. Dr. Robb has served as the chief technology leader for MR coils at GE and currently leads the special coils research and prototyping division. In his talk with the students, he discussed the differences between industry and academic culture and the transition from academia to industry.