News & Events

James T. Dobbins III Leadership Award


We are delighted to present the James T. Dobbins III Leadership Award to Marthony E. Robins (2016) and Wendy B. Harris (2017), Medical Physics Graduate Program PhD students. The James T. Dobbins Student Leadership Award was established by the Medical Physics Administration Council in 2015. The award is given annually to a Medical Physics graduate student who has demonstrated exemplary leadership. James T. Dobbins, III, (aka, Jim), was the first Director of the Medical Physics Graduate Program, and served two terms from 2005-2015. He is now Associate Vice Provost and Director of the Duke Kunshan University Program Office. The award includes a plaque and a $500 cash prize for each recipient.

Academic and Research Excellence Awards 2017


We congratulate the four recipients of the Academic and Research Excellence Award (2016-2017): Yixin Ma (PhD student), Yang Sheng, PhD, James R. Spencer, MS, and Michael A. Trager, MS.  This award was established to recognize individuals for their distinguished performance in both academics and research.

Nominees for the Academic and Research Excellence Award (2016-2017): Jonathan D. Cuthberston (MS student), Jeffrey M. Fenoli (MS student), Wendy B. Harris (PhD student), Yixin Ma (PhD student), Yang Sheng, PhD, James R. Spencer, MS, Michael A. Trager, MS, Devin A. Willey (MS student).

Excellence in Teaching Assistantship Award 2017


We would like to congratulate Isabella Duarte, Medical Physics PhD student, on receiving the Medical Physics Graduate Program Excellence in Teaching Assistantship Award (2016-2017). Below is an excerpt from one of her nomination letters:

“I've seen the daunting workload Isabella has had as a Therapy TA. I know there have been times students have asked her questions outside of class, and she was always extremely helpful and diligent answering them and not pushing them off to school or office hours. Isabella has managed a lot of work with this class as a TA, and I know she's taught and helped the students so much. Isabella is extremely deserving of the Best TA Award.”

Nominees for the Excellence in Teaching Assistantship Award: Isabella Duarte, Jocelyn M. Hoye, Kyle J. Lafata, Xiao Liang, Taylor B. Smith (PhD students)

Excellence in Mentorship Award 2017


We are proud to congratulate Dr. Justus D. Adamson (Radiation Oncology) on receiving the Duke Medical Physics Excellence in Mentorship Award (2016-2017). Dr. Adamson co-teaches the Radiation Therapy Physics course and mentors Medical Physics students. Below is an excerpt from one of his nomination letters:

 “Dr. Justus Adamson is a great mentor [both] in and outside of the classroom. He is an extremely patient teacher and is able to convey complex ideas in a simple manner. Beyond teaching a simple understanding of material, Dr. Adamson helps his students to learn the underlying principles of what he teaches and its importance to the medical physics field as a whole. Dr. Adamson has motivated me to reach my maximum potential during my time at Duke. Dr. Adamson has made my time at Duke very productive and has reinforced my passion for the field.”

Nominees for Excellence in Mentorship Award 2017: Justus D. Adamson, PhD, Jing Cai, PhD, Anuj J. Kapadia, PhD, Joseph Y. Lo, PhD, Lei Ren, PhD, Ehsan Samei, PhD.            

Excellence in Teaching Award 2017


It is an honor to present the Duke Medical Physics Excellence in Teaching Award 2017 to Dr. Robert E. Reiman (Radiology). In addition to clinical responsibilities, Dr. Reiman teaches the "Anatomy and Physiology for Medical Physicists" course. Below is an excerpt from one of the nomination letters:

Dr. Reiman, or Dr. Bob as we affectionately call him, is one of my absolute favorite teachers and people in this program. He taught our Anatomy and Physiology as well as Internal Dosimetry class and you can just see his knowledge and passion in his teaching. Simply put, he genuinely cares so much about students and wants us to succeed both within and outside of his classes. He's a model professor, and I think everyone in the program -- student, professor, or otherwise -- can learn a thing or two from him. All this and more is why I am nominating Dr. Bob for Best Teacher Award.

Nominees for Excellence in Teaching Award (2016-2017): James T. Dobbins III, PhD, Robert E. Reiman Jr, PhD, Ehsan Samei, PhD,  Timothy G. Turkington, PhD, Qiuwen Wu, PhD, Fang-Fang Yin, PhD, Mark Oldham, PhD.