Skip to content
Home / Best in Physics Award Winners

Best in Physics Award Winners

Congratulations to Leith Rankine (PhD student) and James Spencer (MS 2017) for being awarded BEST IN PHYSICS at the AAPM 2017 Annual Meeting, scoring highest in the abstract review process and judged by the Scientific Program Directors to reflect the highest level of scientific quality and innovation.

Leith Rankine and his colleagues used a novel Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) technique to measure and compare spatial distributions of lung ventilation and gas exchange in humans.

James Spencer and his colleagues show the first comparisons of fresh and formalin-fixed specimens to pathologist-assessed H&E histology to detect breast cancer through diffraction imaging. The results exhibit the coherent-scatter diffraction imaging system’s ability to distinguish and identify cancerous tissue using principles of x-ray diffraction.