Skip to content
Home / Commencement 2009 and Awards

Commencement 2009 and Awards

Congratulations and good luck to our fourth MS class which graduated today. As noted in the previous news entry, Lei Ren also became our first ever PhD graduate. The full list of graduates is shown in the table below.

Name Degree Advisor Thesis/Scholarship Title
Maryann Ozidu Abogunde MS T.Yoshizumi Thesis: Small Animal Dosimetry in Cesium-137 and Orthovoltage X-ray Irradiators
William Edwin Brown MS M.Oldham Thesis: Verification of Advanced Gating Techniques using novel 4D Dosimeter
Corey Gray Clift MS M.Oldham Thesis: Application of a novel 3D Dosimetry Technique to the Investigation of Small Photon Fields
Adam I Cohen MS T.Turkington Thesis: Data Driven Respiratory Gating in 2D PET
Latoya Geneen Crayton MS J.Wu Thesis: Analysis of patient motion in head and neck image-guided radiation therapy
Ryan Miller Davis MS M.Dewhirst Thesis: Simultaneous Monitoring of Temperature Sensitive Liposome Content Release and Tumor Temperature with MRI.
William Michael Giles MS J.Bowsher Thesis: Timing and Communications for a Synchronous Dual X-Ray System
D’Vone Jackson MS M.Tornai Project: Fully 3D Breast Dosimetry Using a Dedicated Breast CT System
Sherry Allison Leeper MS S.Yoo Thesis: Evaluation of In-Room Cone-beam CT Imaging Techniques Compared to CT for Dose Calculation
Brandon Cole Mader MS M.Oldham Thesis: Advantages of Patient-based margin definition for dosimetry in the presence of cervical motion
Jessica Lee Nute MS T.Turkington Thesis: Reliability of measurements of change in PET SUV
Jason Paisley MS T.Yoshizumi Thesis: Comparative Study of Interal Dose Asessment between Whole Body Counter and Gamma camera
Christopher John Veale MS Zh.Wang Thesis: Amplitude gated Breath-Hold Treatment for Heart Dose Reduction in Left Breast Cancer Patients: Residual Motion and Breath-Hold Threshold
Nagabindu Vulli MS S.Das Thesis: Effect of fluence map smoothness on the deliverability of Head-Neck tumors designed on Eclipse
Tian Zhang MS Zh.Wang Thesis: Comparison of ITV-based and Amplitude-gated Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT) for Lung Cancers
Lei Ren PhD F.-F.Yin “Dissertation: DTS for image guided radiation therapy”

In addition, congratulations also go to the following award recipients for this year. Awards are given out during the program’s private ceremony during commencement weekend.

Director’s Award for Exemplary Service Terry Yoshizumi, Mark Oldham, Haijun Song, Sherry Leeper, Vorakarn Chanyavanich, Ross McGurk, Francisco Robles
Excellence in Research Award for MS Student Maryann Abogunde
Excellence in Research Award for PhD Student Xiang Li
Excellence in Teaching Award (based on students’ vote) Shiva Das
Excellence in Teaching Assistantship Award (nominated by students) Jennifer Seger
Excellence in Mentorship Award (nominated by students) Mark Dewhirst, Terry Yoshizumi
Excellence in Academic Performance Award (all first year students, based on GPA) Hao Li
Excellence in Academic Performance Award (all second year students based on GPA) Francisco Robles
Carey E. Floyd Jr. Graduate Fellowship: ($1,000 stipend supplement) Vorakarn Chanyavanich