Skip to content
Home / 2023 Faculty Seed Grant Award

2023 Faculty Seed Grant Award

We are thrilled to announce the recipients of our program’s 2023 Medical Physics Faculty Seed Funding Award. Dr. Justus Adamson, PhD (Department of Radiation Oncology) and Dr. Dean Darnell, PhD (Department of Radiology) have been awarded $15,000 for their groundbreaking project titled “Feasibility of Bowel Dose Sparing During SBRT Using an Externally Controlled Magnetic Slime Robot.” This award aims to foster interdisciplinary collaborations that lead to innovative student research projects. The project addresses a crucial challenge in radiation oncology by exploring the use of a magnetic slime-based robot for precise bowel displacement during radiation therapy. This innovative approach has the potential to enhance patient outcomes, minimize radiation exposure to vital organs, and expand treatment options. Congratulations to Drs. Adamson and Darnell on this well-deserved recognition for their pioneering work!