Skip to content
Home / Class of 2024 Graduation

Class of 2024 Graduation

Class of 2024 Group Photo, holding diplomas and wearing graduation gowns

We are thrilled to announce the successful culmination of the journey for our esteemed Class of 2024 at the Awards and Diplomas Ceremony held on May 11 at the Washington Duke Inn. The event was a testament to their dedication, hard work, and perseverance. Director Mark Oldham delivered a heartfelt speech at the graduation ceremony, celebrating the achievements of 19 exceptional students. The Director emphasized the importance of rigorous academic and research standards, highlighting the bright future and exciting career opportunities awaiting the graduates. The speech also stressed the value of compassionate clinical care, interdisciplinary collaboration, and leadership within the medical physics field. The Director encouraged graduates to apply their skills for the greater good and maintain strong connections with their Duke heritage and peers. A special 20th-anniversary celebration for the program was also announced for December. The ceremony featured the presentation of numerous awards to faculty and students, recognizing their outstanding contributions and achievements. The full list of awards can be found below.

Tyler Kay delivered the graduate’s reflections, in which he celebrated the strong bonds and accomplishments of their class, emphasizing gratitude for the support received from faculty, family, and friends. He highlighted the unique role of medical physicists and urged his peers to use their skills and compassion to make a positive impact in the world, while cherishing the enduring connections formed during their time together.

The ceremony concluded with a touching slideshow, showcasing memorable moments from the students’ transformative journey. Laughter, tears, and nostalgia filled the room as everyone reminisced about the shared experiences.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all our graduates and award recipients for their remarkable achievements. As they embark on new adventures, we wish them every success and fulfillment in their future endeavors.

Scholarships and Awards

James T. Dobbins III Leadership Award

  • Lindsey Bloom
  • Tyler Kay

Zachary D. Shrock Memorial Scholarship

  • Wesley Cunningham

Carey E. Floyd, Jr., Graduate Fellowship

  • Olivia Dickinson

Director’s Award for Exceptional Contributions

  • Jessica Dominici
  • Katie Olivas
  • Ethan Malin
  • Scott Robertson

May 2024 Graduating Class:

Masters of Science

  • Lindsey Bloom
  • Kayli Buchli
  • Julianna Detrick
  • Jessica Dominici
  • Michael Garcia Alcoser
  • Casey Heirman
  • Tyler Kay
  • Yansong Liu
  • Spencer Lynch
  • Kah Kee Ng
  • Beth Reed
  • Scott Reid
  • Jafr-Tayar Shabazz
  • Lana Wang
  • Zachary Whipps
  • Ye Wan Evan Wong

Doctor of Philosophy

  • Zhuoran Jiang
  • Junlan Lu
  • Hunter Stephens