News & Events

Chen selected as Young Investigator Finalist

(2017-05-05) Medical Physics Program PhD student Yingxuan Chen has been selected as a John R. Cameron Young Investigator Competition finalist to present her research at the Young Investigator Symposium at the AAPM Annual Meeting in Denver this summer. Her abstract titled “Low Dose CBCT Reconstruction Via Prior Contour Based Total Variation Regularization (PCTV)”.  There were 358 submissions to the competition and only the 10 highest scoring submissions were accepted, meaning Yingxuan’s abstract and support document was rated by the reviewers as among the best submitted. Congratulations to Yingxuan on this impressive achievement. 



Innovation in MedPhys Education

(2017-05-05) An abstract titled Empowering Future Clinical Leaders: Professionalism in Medical Physics Graduate Education, authored by Dr. Joshua Wilson, Dr. Anuj Kapadia, and Dr. Ehsan Samei, has been selected as one of the six finalists for the Innovation in Medical Physics Education Award. They will do a 15-minute presentation at the AAPM Annual Meeting where the winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Monday, July 31.  The top presenting abstract will be awarded a plaque and a $2000 prize.


Photon-counting breast CT shows promise

(2017-05-05) reported a team at Duke University Medical Center built a photon-counting detector breast CT scanner that could be useful for low-dose breast CT by separating the energy levels of different types of materials within the breast to assess tissue composition and improve cancer diagnosis. Additionally, it creates the possibility of spectroscopic acquisitions for differentiating malignant from benign tissue. The system was built from off-the-shelf parts and tested using phantoms containing plastic biological materials and could readily be incorporated into Duke’s existing dedicated breast SPECT/CT imaging system. The research is led by Dr. Martin Tornai (Radiology), who presented the work at ECR 2017. (Read more)



Welcome 2017 Med Phys Residents

(2017-04-21) Duke’s Imaging Physics and Therapy residency programs are proud to announce the class of 2019 recruits from the National Match Program: Megan Russ and James Spencer for the DI residency, and Yang Sheng and Yawei Zhang for the RT residency. Megan graduated from SUNY Geneseo with a bachelor’s degree in physics in 2013 and will soon obtain her doctoral degree in medical imaging physics from University of Buffalo. James graduated from Texas A&M graduate with a degree in nuclear engineering and is currently a second year master’s student in the Duke Medical Physics Graduate Program. Yang Sheng obtained his BS in physics from University of Nanjing in 2012 and earned his MS from the Duke University Medical Physics Graduate Program in 2014. He successfully defended his PhD thesis at Duke in March 2017. Yawei graduated from Lanzhou University with a bachelor’s degree in applied physics 200, and successfully completed his PhD in physics in Rurgers in 2013.  Congratulations to the new residents!



DKU Face2Face: Welcoming New DKU MedPhy Class

(2017-04-21) MedPhys Coordinators Wendy Harris and Kyle Lafata, PhD students in the graduate program organized a Q&A session with the incoming Duke Kunshan students on April 10. Upon the DKU students’ arrival, the coordinators will help the visiting students adjust to life in Durham,  and organize social activities with the current students.